By C. Barry Goodband

Thunder Mountain Speedway – Center Lisle, NY – Mother Nature threw a curve ball into the show last Saturday with a shower that moved in mid-way through the feature program. However, the Cracker Jack track prep crew led by Karl Spoonhower hit it out of the park. In fact, the racing surface was nearly perfect when the Modified feature rolled out following a roughly 45 minute delay. Fortunately, the rain never fell heavily and the faithful fans at Thunder Mountain stuck around to see the rest of a stellar night of racing that saw its final checkered flag fall at 10:53 pm despite the break in the action.

Binghamton NY Resident Dana Davis and Newfield’s Jared Green occupied the front row for the start of the 20 lap 600cc modified feature. Green would lead the way early with Davis applying steady pressure. The first yellow flew on lap 8 for a car stalled in turn 4. On the restart, Davis got a run entering turns 1 and 2 making contact with Greens back bumper and sending him into a spin. Green was able to continue and Davis was sent to the rear for his part in the incident. This left the top two spots in the hands of Chris Jordan and Rich Powell for the ensuing restart. Jordan would gain the upper hand and drive on to the checkers making it 2 in a row and 3 wins total on the season.
600cc Modified – Chris Jordan, Byron Worthing, Dana Davis, Rich Powell, Tom Shiner, Doug Windhausen, Jared Green, Chace Scutt, Justin LaDue, John McKilligan, Ali Scutt, Jake Waibel

Third generation racer Eric Boynton sat on the pole for the 20-lap Street Stock main event with Norwich NY native Jake Fowlston to his outside. Boynton’s machine was in top form and led the way for much of the first half of the race. Meanwhile Boynton’s brother in law Jon Carpenter had piloted the other Boynton owned car up from a seventh starting spot to run second when a yellow flew on lap 9. Carpenter surged by on the restart and led the rest of the way. Boynton maintained control of second and the pair looked to be en route to a 1-2 family finish but Eric was nipped at the line by Jake Fowlston who had also had an excellent run.
Street Stock – Jon Carpenter, Jake Fowlston, Eric Boynton, Kurt Decker, Shane Wolf Jr, Earl Zimmer, Gene Sharpsteen, Matt Spencer, Mike Wilber, Buck Mills, Jon White, Tom Donahue, Jonathan Fowlston, Zack Mills, Jeff Wilcox, Trever Dudley, Brett Crawford, Bobby Wagner, Don Russell, Jack Holcomb, Bob Mills, John Hoover

Billy Ward finally claimed his first win of an 18-year career in the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature. Ward led every lap from the outside of the front row to pick up the special $750 winner’s purse on Barrett Paving Materials night at the Speedway.
IMCA Modified – Billy Ward, Tyler Stoddard, Will Ward, Gary Roberts, Bill Nichols, Rodney Morgan, Jeff Cardinale, Bumps Scutt, DNS Ray McClure

Chance Spoonhower and Byron Worthing shared the front row when the Modifieds rolled out for their 35-lap feature dance but were delayed by a shower that rolled through and held up the show for about 45 minutes. When the rain ebbed, the modifieds had a remarkably tacky surface beneath them making for a lightning fast track. A series of yellows shuffled the starting grid significantly before the 23 car field could put a pair of green laps together. When the first green flag run did commence it was Spoonhower with the advantage over Worthing. An extremely fast trio of drivers consisting of Jeremy Smith, Ryan Jordan and Alan Barker moved swiftly through early traffic after starting eighth, tenth and twelfth respectively. Smith found the high groove to his liking and powered by Worthing and Spoonhower to take over the top spot on lap 12. Smith would then dance through lap traffic and hold off challenges from point leader Alan Barker to take his third win of 2018 and close the gap in the championship chase to a scant 2 points. Honorable mention must be given to Shaun Walker who made the hard charge up to finish third after rolling off 14th on the grid in his first TMS appearance of the season.
Modified – Jeremy Smith, Alan Barker, Shaun Walker, Colton Wilson, Nick Nye, P.J. Goodwin, Brent Wilcox, Bob Stahl, Damon Decker, Brian White, Larry Mekic, Lee DeWitt, Alissa Cody, Pat Parker, Ryan Jordan, Byron Worthing, Chris Stull, Chance Spoonhower, Sam Allen, Steven Deinhardt, Kevin Jordan, Jeff Sheeley, Kailee DiMorier

The 25-lap Crate Sportsman feature had Tighe Sherlock and Hilary Ward on the front row. Ward fell back on the start and got shuffled out to high side. While coming off turn four Ward made hard contact with the wall and into the path of Mike Austin who collected her. Austin was able to continue but Ward’s night was done after just one circuit. Former 600cc Modified champ Will Eastman who was making just his third start in a crate sportsman now joined Sherlock on the front row. Eastman would get the holeshot leading lap 2 and all other subsequent laps. A frightening moment came with four to go when Sherlock looped his car off turn four and again it was Mike Austin with nowhere to go. Austin attempted to break but piled into the stopped Sherlock machine at a good clip. Will Eastman then completed his run to the checkers becoming the third of four men to achieve career first wins this night. For Eastman it was his first win in a sportsman after enjoying a stellar career in the 600cc ranks.
Crate Sportsman – Will Eastman, Jimmy Zacharias, Shayne Spoonhower, Chance Spoonhower, Matt Brewer, Kenny Hammond, Daryl Krebs, Hunter Lapp, Isaiah Forward, Damon Decker, Tyler Ward, Chris Kithcart, Kimberlee Morgan, Tighe Sherlock, Mike Austin, Tyler Keener, Hilary Ward, DQ – AJ Williams

The driver known as the Barton Bullet, Tom Eiklor also claimed a career first victory in the 25 lap main for Open Sportsman. Eiklor lead every circuit from the outside pole on the way to his first sportsman win. The driver out of Barton NY had scored wins in full fender stock cars and IMCA mods. However, this was his first in an Open Sportsman. The victory did not come easily however as he was hotly pursued by point leader Chris Jordan and crossed under the checkers with only a two car length advantage.
Open Sportsman – Tom Eiklor, Chris Jordan, Greg Morgan, Landon Cummings, Brian Mady, T.J. Frost, Shawn Davis, Jesse Velez, Brad Cicio, DNS Nick Mady

Jake Mason started outside the front row with Leah Decker to the inside and led from green to checkers in the 15-lap Rookie Sportsman main event. This is the second win in a row for the young driver and his third this season.
Rookie Sportsman – Jake Mason, Joe McCabe, Connor Sellers, Brandon Fritsch, Matt Addona, Cody Jackson, Michael Corbin, Leah Decker, Danielle Smith, Zachary Diedrickson

Luke Mills gained his first career win in his first appearance at TMS. Mills started fifth on the grid and was able to capitalize on early mechanical failures from track regulars Justin LaDue and Rich Wagner. Mills was running second when leader Eric Rowley also suffered a mechanical issue with two to go. Mills then went on to the win.
4cyl Stock – Luke Mills, Eric Rowley, Zach Hayward, Justin Wells, Richard Eggleston, Ken Williams, Austin Edwards, Rich Wagner, Justin LaDue, Michael Brown

A big double header lies ahead on July 21st and 22nd as the annual Wade Decker Memorial weekend gets underway on Saturday night with a regular show for Open Sportsman, Crate Sportsman, Street Stocks, IMCAs, 600cc Mods, Rookie Sportsman and 4-Cylinders. The Modifieds will have an open practice session followed by a $500 dollar dash of cash. Then on Sunday, the Wade Decker Memorial features a $5000 to win 51 lap Modified main event along with Crate Sportsman and Street Stocks. Full details available at the tracks facebook page or on the web at www.thundermtnspeedway.net.