CENTER LISLE, NY…..The final event of the 2021 season at Thunder Mountain Speedway was ‘The Unruly Race’ presented by TGIR Merch, an open competition style event where the only rules were proper safety equipment, a 3000lb minimum weight, and DOT or Hoosier G60-15 tires.
By virtue of passing points, Steven Deinhardt and Jason Rhodes started on the front row of the 50-lap Unruly Race feature. Unfortunately for Rhodes, he had a busted front end put a stop to his race on a lap 4 restart. When racing resumed, Deinhardt, sporting no roof and a collection of sail panels and spoilers, roared away to a half lap lead over Kurt Decker, who outfitted his Street Stock with sail panels. A lap 15 yellow for Walt Henry’s stopped car erased Deinhardt’s lead and brought Damon Decker into contention after he had moved up from the back of the field. Damon Decker went pitside on the lap 15 yellow with a mechanical issue.
On a lap 24 restart, Kurt Decker took second from Mike Morse, who had pitted after a flat tire on lap 1, but he spun in turn two, collecting Shane Moshier. Decker returned and charged back into contention, but stopped on the track on lap 33 and had to be pushed to the pits. Deinhardt lapped almost into the top three over the remainder of the distance to take the win and the $3,000 payday. Morse was a distant second, with Rich Sharpsteen third. The winged car of Lenny Miller was fourth and Buck Mills Sr completed the top five.
In the CRSA 25-lap ‘A’ Main, Dalton Kerrick made some amazing moves in the opening laps to move past Mike Van Pelt and Jeff Trombley to take the lead. A red flag flew on lap 4 after contact between Darryl Ruggles and Trevor Years sent Ruggles into a series of barrel rolls in turn four. Kerrick held on through some late race restarts to take his first CRSA win of the year. Trombley and VanPelt were followed by Trevor Years and Ron Greek.
Devon Green and Justin LaDue traded the lead back and forth during the first half of the 20-lap 600cc Modified feature, with Green locking in the top spot after a classic slide job pass in turn four of lap 8. Green pulled away in the second half of the race as misfortune struck LaDue as he made contact with a lapped car and flattened a right rear tire, dropping back a few spots. At the finish, Green recorded his second Thunder Mountain win in six days, having won the 600cc Modified portion of the Wade Decker Memorial on Labor Day. Doug Windhausen made his way to second, followed by Jake Waibel. LaDue limped home fourth and Ali Scutt was fifth.
Ivan Forney led the entire 20-lap distance to score his first win on the NY6A Sprint Tour for 2021 after battling all race long with Kyle Pierce. Jason Moll, Wayne Stella, and Will Fisher were the rest of the top five.
‘The Unruly Race’ was the final event of 2021 at Thunder Mountain. For more information, visit www.thundermtnspeedway.net .
THE UNRULY RACE-STEVEN DEINHARDT, Mike Morse, Rich Sharpsteen, Lenny Miller, Buck Mills Sr, Luke Mills, Joel Murns, Kurt Decker, Shane Moshier, Shawn Sabo, Damon Decker, Walt Henry, Jasn Bartsch, Jason Rhodes, Jason Beebe, Brian Lloyd, Greg Sleight (DNS).
CRSA 305 SPRINTS-DALTON HERRICK, Jeff Trombley, Mike VanPelt, Trevor Years, Ron Greek, Kyle Pierce, Tyler Emmons, John Cunningham, Ray Preston, Jordan Hutton, Emily VanInwegen, Cliff Pierce, James Layton, Dana Wagner, Dan Crawn, Josh Flint, Darryl Ruggles, Thomas Radivoy, Timmy Lotz.
600cc MODIFIEDS-DEVON GREEN, Doug Windhausen, Jake Waibel, Justin LaDue, Ali Scutt, Mark Golden, Tracy Oliver, Nicholas Johnson, Aiden Miller, Jamison Rahrle.
NY6A SPRINTS-IVAN FORNEY, Kyle Pierce, Jason Moll, Wayne Stella, Will Fisher, Jerry Gurney, Jeff Tinkham, Matt Foster, Davin Clark, Ron Vedder, Brendan Wallace.